About AAFP

Strong Family Medicine for Alabama

The Alabama Academy of Family Physicians was founded in 1949 by 5 general physicians, in Montgomery, Alabama. From those early days, the chapter has grown to include more than 1,000 active family physician-members as well as more than 850 student and family medicine residents.

Headquartered in Montgomery, our primary mission is to advocate for family physicians and their patients in the legislative, regulatory, and public arenas. as well as provide quality educational programming for our members. Currently the Chapter is providing more than 35 hours of continuing medical education a year to the membership.

Our Staff Takes Pride in Serving Our Membership


Executive Vice President - Jeffrey E. Arrington



Ray Stewart, M.D., Board Chair *
Lee Carter, M.D., President*
Brittney Anderson, M.D., President-Elect*
Tate Hinkle, M.D., VP Southeast (‘25)
Laura Satcher, M.D., VP Northeast (‘27)
Boyd Bailey, M.D., VP Southwest (‘24)
Holly McCaleb, M.D. VP Northwest ('26)
Drake Lavender, M.D., Treasurer ('24)*
Jeffrey E. Arrington, Exec. VP

Board of Directors

Vacant. Gulf Coast Branch
Michael Goodlett, M.D. At Large (26)
Tracy Jacobs, M.D. At Large (25)
Kim Owens, M.D. At Large (24)
Nelson Cook, M.D. Calhoun County Branch
John Meigs, M.D. Ex. Officio
Vacant, Resident Chapter President

Wade Jones, Student Chapter President

Congressional District Representatives

Marirose Trimmer M.D.
Cory Luckie, M.D.
Justin Vines, M.D.
Keri Mershman, M.D.
Amy Clark, M.D.
Jake Guin, M.D.
Allison Chappell, M.D.

AFP Delegates

Tonya Bradley, M.D. (‘25)*
Jerry Harrison, M.D. (‘24)

AAFP Alternate Delegates

Beverly Jordan, M.D. (‘25)
Julia Boothe, M.D. (‘24)

Scope Managing Director

Jeffrey E. Arrington

* indicates member of the Executive Committee